Welcome to Adecco Campus |Adecco World

Norway (officially The Kingdom of Norway) is a country whose territory comprises the major portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula. Norway has total area 385 252 km², shares border with Sweden, Finland and Russia and on its south Norway borders the Skagerrak Strait across from Denmark. Population is about 5 million so it’s the second least densely populated country in Europe. The capital city of Norway is Oslo. The name of the country comes from Old Norse "Norδweg" and means "the northward route". The official language is Norwegian (its two official written forms: bokmål and nynorsk) and in some areas also Uralic Sami languages.

Norway is unitary constitutional monarchy. According to Constitution the king (since 1991 the King Harald V) choose the State Council with the Prime Minister (between 2000-2001 and since 2005 Jens Stoltenberg), but in practise the Prime Minister and government is responsible for executive powers. Legislative power is vested with both the government and the Parliment of Norway (Stortinget) with 169 members, chosen for four years. The Constitution of Norway was adopted on 16 May 1814.

Norway is divided into 5 regions (landsdeler) and 19 first-level administrative countries (fylker). They are sub-divided into second-level municipalities. The other main cities are Bergen, Stavanger, Trondheim, Fredrikstad and Drammen.

The main industries are petroleum resources (oil and gas), shipyards and food industry (mainly fish).